All things NDIS!

The NDIS can provide people with disability the information and connections needed to access services in their communities such as therapists, support groups and community activities, and daily support.

What is the NDIS?

National: The NDIS is being introduced progressively across all states and territories within Australia

Disability: The NDIS provides support to eligible people with intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial disability. Early intervention supports can also be provided for eligible people with disability or children with developmental delay.

Insurance: The NDIS is an Australian insurance scheme, providing funding to individuals that will allow access to the support they need.

Scheme: The NDIS is designed to help people get the support they need so their skills and independence improve over time.

Who is the NDIS for?

Australians under 65 years old and have a permanent disability, are able to apply for NDIS funding. Disabilities can include intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial. NDIS funding and supports are given to help people with these types of disabilities achieve their goals, maintain independence and live to their full potential.

NDIS Funding

NDIS funding is categorised into three main sections; Core budget, Capacity Building and Capital budget.

Funding from each category is allocated to different support needs. Your support coordinator can help you use and understand each category to seek out what supports and services are available.

The NDIS is not income tested like other financial support. This also means that those who care for someone with a disability do not have to pay for all of the necessary supports.

What does the NDIS fund?

The NDIS funds ‘reasonable and necessary’ funds to help participants achieve their goals and live a full life. These supports are based on the individuals needs and are designed to specially help the individual reach their goals and take part in everyday activities.

  • Support may be related to education, employment, social participation, independence, living arrangements, and health and wellbeing.
  • Funding may help participants to:
  • Have assistance with personal care (for example, getting in and out of bed, showering and household activities.
  • Access different kinds of services and therapies (for example, physiotherapy, speech therapy, social therapy, or occupational therapy)
  • Get aids and equipment they need (for example, wheelchairs or hearing aids).
  • Be more independent (for example, live on their own or in a share-house, or learn how to cook, grocery shop, or drive) participate in the community (for example, get a job, or use transport)


What is ‘reasonable and necessary’?


What are the three categories of my NDIS funding?